

# Southwest Philosophical Studies

The Journal of The New Mexico-West Texas Philosophical Society

> Volume 25 Spring 2003

#### SOUTHWEST PHILOSOPHICAL STUDIES

EDITOR

Glenn C. Joy, Texas State University-San Marcos

#### **EDITORIAL BOARD**

Thomas M. Alexander, Southern Illinois University Gregg Franzwa, Texas Christian University William Springer, University of Texas at El Paso Howard Tuttle, University of New Mexico

### EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE NEW MEXICO-WEST TEXAS PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

President: Joe Barnhart, University of North Texas Vice President: Charles Harriman, College of Santa Fe Secretary-Treasurer: Gary Cesarz, Southeast Missouri State University

#### LARRY TAYLOR MEMORIAL AWARD WINNERS

1993–Chandrashekkar Veera, Texas Tech University
1994–Alan Coates, University of New Mexico
1995–Barbara Mahoney, Washington State University
1996–Yiwei Zheng, Indiana University
1997–Scott Kimbrough, Texas A&M University
1999–Bryan Benham, James Madison University (co-winner)
1999–Michael W. Johnson, Baylor University (co-winner)
2000–Paul Gyllenhammer, Marquette University
2001–Joseph S. Kallo, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale

buthwest Philosophical Studies, the journal of the New Mexico-West Texas Philosophiof Society, is published annually. General correspondence may be addressed to Professor lenn C. Joy, Editor, Southwest Philosophical Studies, Department of Philosophy, 601 niversity Drive, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX 78666. Individual and instituonal subscription information may be addressed to Professor Peter Hutcheson, Secretaryreasurer, Department of Philosophy, 601 University Drive, Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas 78666.

*abmissions:* Only papers read at the Annual Meeting of the New Mexico-West Texas hilosophical Society are eligible for publication in Southwest Philosophical Studies. anuscripts are blind-refereed for possible acceptance in two phases, the first for formal esentation during the Society's annual spring meeting, and the second, subsequent phase r publication in either full-article or abstract form in the following year's volume of buthwest Philosophical Studies. Contact the Secretary-Treasurer for technical details of anuscript preparation including the annual receipt deadline. The Society and Southwest hilosophical Studies welcome submissions concerning any area of serious philosophic terest.

## **Proceedings**

of

# **The Fifty-Third Annual Meeting**

of

# The New Mexico-West Texas

# **Philosophical Society**

**April 2002** 

The meeting was held in Galveston, Texas hosted by Northwest College Houston Community College System Houston, Texas

## CONTENTS

## PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS

Joe E. Barnhart
PAPERS
Gilbert Fulmer13 Howard Van Till's Super-Naturalism
Hamner Hill
Glenn C. Joy
Joseph S. Kallo41
Belief and the Problem of the Criterion in the Meno
Carlos A. Sanchez
James B. Sauer61 Reconfiguring the "Adam Smith Problem"
Dan R. Stiver
Joseph W. Ulatowski85
A Conscientious Resolution of the Action Paradox on Buridan's Bridge
Matt Zwolinski95
Person-Neutrality and the Separateness of Persons
ABSTRACTS105
CONTRIBUTORS
2002 PROGRAM