Southwest Philosophical Studies

The Journal of The New Mexico and West Texas Philosophical Society

> Volume 24 Spring 2002

SOUTHWEST PHILOSOPHICAL STUDIES

EDITOR

Glenn C. Joy, Texas State University-San Marcos

EDITORIAL BOARD

Thomas M. Alexander, Southern Illinois University Gregg Franzwa, Texas Christian University William Springer, University of Texas at El Paso Howard Tuttle, University of New Mexico

EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE NEW MEXICO AND WEST TEXAS PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

President: C. Lynne Fulmer, Texas State University-San Marcos Vice President: Joe Barnhart, University of North Texas Secretary-Treasurer: Gary Cesarz, Southeast Missouri State University

PRODUCTION MANAGER

David C. Fountain

SUSTAINING INSTITUTIONS

Center for Philosophical Studies at Lamar University
McMurry University

LARRY TAYLOR MEMORIAL AWARD WINNERS

1993--Chandrashekkar Veera, Texas Tech University
1994--Alan Coates, University of New Mexico
1995--Barbara Mahoney, Washington State University
1996--Yiwei Zheng, Indiana University
1997--Scott Kimbrough, Texas A&M University
1999--Bryan Benham, James Madison University (co-winner)
1999 Michael W. Johnson, Baylor University (co-winner)
2000--Paul Gyllenhammer, Marquette University
2001--Joseph S. Kallo, Southern Illinois University at Carbodale

Southwest Philosophical Studies, the journal of the New Mexico and West Texas Philosophical Society, is published annually. General correspondence may be addressed to Professor Glenn C. Joy, Editor, Southwest Philosophical Studies, Department of Philosophy, 601 University Drive, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX 78666. Individual and institutional subscription information may be addressed to Professor Gary Cesarz, Secretary/Treasurer, Department of Philosophy & Religion, Southeast Missouri State University, Cape Girardeau, MO 63701.

Submissions: Only papers read at the Annual Meeting of the New Mexico and West Texas Philosophical Society are eligible for publication in Southwest Philosophical Studies. Manuscripts are blind-refereed for possible acceptance in two phases, the first for formal presentation during the Society's annual spring Meeting, and the second, subsequent phase for publication in either full-article or abstract form in the following year's volume of Southwest Philosophical Studies. Contact the Secretary/Treasurer for technical details of manuscript preparation including the annual receipt deadline. The Society and SPS welcome submissions concerning any area of serious philosophic interest, pluralistic and analytic alike, that advance knowledge in their fields.

© 2006 by the New Mexico and West Texas Philosophical Society

ISSN: 0885-9310

Proceedings

of

The Fifty-Second Annual Meeting

of

The New Mexico and West Texas

Philosophical Society

April 2001

The meeting was held in Las Vegas, New Mexico hosted by New Mexico Highlands University

CONTENTS

PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS

C. Lynne Fulmer

Deadly Subversion: The Real Beef About Advertising	2
PAPERS	
Martin Coleman	
John Dewey Wrote for You and Me	13
Robert Ferrell	
Hans Albert and Critical Realism	23
' Charles Harriman	
Stephen Pinker and Communication with Extraterrestrials	27
Glenn C. Joy	
Ballots In The Belfry: Lewis Carroll And Voting Fairness	35
Joseph S. Kallo	
Fate and Skepticism: Emerson's Threnody	45
Dan Stiver	
A Warranted Interpretation of Plantinga	53
Rui Zhu The Fallacy of Property Causation	67
ABSTRACTS	75
CONTRIBUTORS	79
2001 PROGRAM	81