Southwest Philosophical Studies

The Journal of The New Mexico-West Texas Philosophical Society

> Volume 30 Spring 2008

SOUTHWEST PHILOSOPHICAL STUDIES

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Glenn C. Joy, Texas State University

MANAGING EDITOR Dan Flores, El Paso Community College

EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE NEW MEXICO-WEST TEXAS PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

President: Tim Cleveland, New Mexico State University Vice President: Dan R. Stiver, Hardin-Simmons University Secretary-Treasurer: Peter Hutcheson, Texas State University

LARRY TAYLOR MEMORIAL AWARD

1993–Chandrashekkar Veera, Texas Tech University
1994–Alan Coates, University of New Mexico
1995–Barbara Mahoney, Washington State University
1996–Yiwei Zheng, Indiana University
1997–Scott Kimbrough, Texas A&M University
1999–Bryan Benham, James Madison University (co-winner)
1999–Michael W. Johnson, Baylor University (co-winner)
2000–Paul Gyllenhammer
2001–Joseph S. Kallo, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
2007–Allison Hagerman, University of New Mexico

HUBERT ALEXANDER MEMORIAL AWARD

2003–Dwayne Tunstall, Hardin-Simmons University 2004–William H. Smith, Rice University 2005–John H. Haddox, The University of Texas at El Paso 2007–Charles Hobbs, Southern Illinois University Carbondale 2009–Vinod Lakshmipathy, Rice University 2010–Nicholas Guardinano, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

HOUGHTON DALRYMPLE MEMORIAL AWARD

2009-Chris Shrock, Baylor University 2010-Jerry Green, Texas Tech University

Southwest Philosophical Studies, the journal of the New Mexico-West Texas Philosophical Society, is published annually. General correspondence may be addressed to Professor Glenn C. Joy, Editor, Southwest Philosophical Studies, Department of Philosophy, 601 University Drive, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX 78666. Individual and institutional subscription information may be addressed to <nmwtphilosophy@gmail.com>, Professor Peter Hutcheson, Secretary-Treasurer, Department of Philosophy, 601 University, San Marcos, Texas 78666.

Submissions: Only papers read at the Annual Meeting of the New Mexico-West Texas Philosophical Society are eligible for publication in *Southwest Philosophical Studies*. Manuscripts in any area of serious philosophic interest are blind-refereed for possible acceptance in two phases, the first for formal presentation during the Society's annual spring meeting and the second for publication in the following year's volume of *Southwest Philosophical Studies*. Contact the Secretary-Treasurer for technical details of manuscript preparation including the annual receipt deadline.

© 2011 by the New Mexico-West Texas Philosophical Society, <nmwt.org> ISSN: 0885-9310

Selected Papers and Abstracts from The Fifty-Eighth Annual Meeting of

The New Mexico-West Texas Philosophical Society

March 30-April 1, 2007

The meeting was held in Austin, Texas hosted by

Texas State University-San Marcos San Marcos, Texas

CONTENTS

PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS Timothy Cleveland Trying and Mental Causation
LARRY TAYLOR MEMORIAL AWARD Allison Hagerman Establishing a Conscious Aesthetic Awareness of Our Everyday Surroundings9
HUBERT ALEXANDER AWARD Charles A. Hobbs Peirce's Tychism and the Epicurean Swerve15
PAPERS John DePoe Williamson on the Evidence for Skepticism
C. Lynne Fulmer Astell, Achilles' Heel, and Anthropocentrism: Hobbes and Locke on the Social Contract 33
Gilbert Fulmer Plantinga's "Defeat" of Naturalism
Drew Goodgame Levinas and the Aesthetic as Given45
Cliff Hill What a Computer Can't Compute, What a Believer Can't Believe
Timothy C. Lord R. G. Collingwood's Critique of the Realist Claim That Knowing Makes No Difference to What Is Known59
Kevin McCain Descartes and the Creation of Eternal Truths65
Gregory Fernando Pappas John Dewey and the Contemporary "Deliberative Turn" in Political Theory71
John Symons Functionalism and Fallibility79
Ernesto Rosen Velásquez Hume's Racism and His Theory of Prejudice
ABSTRACTS Peter Hutcheson Are All Theodicies Irrefutable?
Charles Klayman The Necessity and Suppression of Doubt93
Deacon Newhouse A Critique of Phenomenalism93
Lamont Rodgers John Stewart Mill on Social Contract Theory94
Danny Scoccia The Species Norm Criterion of Full Moral Status94
Josiah B. Simon On the Art of Biography: Rosenzweig's Debt to Dilthey in Hegal and the State95
Alejandro Strong José Martí: The Role of Nature in Education
CONTRIBUTORS
2007 PROGRAM