# **Southwest Philosophical Studies**

The Journal of The New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society

### SOUTHWEST PHILOSOPHICAL STUDIES

http://www.nmwt.org/

#### **EDITOR-IN-CHIEF**

Justin Bell, University of Houston - Victoria

#### MANAGING EDITOR

Andrew Pavelich, University of Houston – Downtown

# 2011 EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE NEW MEXICO TEXAS PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

President: Dan Flores, Houston Community College – Northwest
Vice President: Nathan Smith, Houston Community College – Northwest
Secretary-Treasurer: Peter Hutcheson, Texas State University
Past President: Ron Wilburn, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Journal Editor: Glenn C. Joy, Texas State University
Director At-Large: Thomas Urban, Houston Community College – Northwest
Director At-Large: Audrey McKinney, Texas State University

Southwest Philosophical Studies, the journal of the New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society, is published annually. General correspondence may be addressed to Justin Bell, editor-in-chief Southwest Philosophical Studies; University of Houston – Victoria; School of Arts and Sciences; 3007 North Ben Wilson; Victoria, TX 77901. Justin Bell's email address is BellJ1@uhv.edu. Individual and institutional subscription information may be addressed to <secretary.nmwt@gmail.com>.

Submissions: Only papers read at the Annual Meeting of the New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society are eligible for publication in Southwest Philosophical Studies. Manuscripts in any area of serious philosophical interest are blind-refereed for possible acceptance in two phases, the first for formal presentation during the Society's annual spring meeting and the second for publication in the following year's volume of Southwest Philosophical Studies. Contact the Secretary-Treasurer for technical details of manuscript preparation. The call for papers is published on the Society's website at <a href="http://www.nmwt.org/">http://www.nmwt.org/</a> and sent out by the Secretary through the distribution list. Please contact the Secretary to be added to the list.

© 2015 by the New Mexico-Texas Philosophical Society ISSN 0885-9310

## The Sixty-Second Annual Meeting of The New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society

### **April 2011**

The meeting was held in El Paso, Texas

Hosted by

The University of Texas at El Paso

### **CONTENTS**

PAPERS		
Dan Flores		
2011 .	Presidential Address	
Euthy	phro, Philosophers, and Uncertainty	1
Luciana Garb	payo	
Winne	er of the Houghton Dalrymple Award	
Const	tructability in Mathematics:	
A Cou	unterfactual Approach to Non-Euclidean Geometries	
in Ka	nt's Philosophy of Imagination	10
Pablo Zavala		
	er of the Houghton Dalrymple Award	
Ideall	y Necessary Laws of Nature	21
Tad Bratkows	ski	
Gadar	mer and Dewey on the Roles of Poetry and the Poet	27
Jason Berntse	en	
On Ei	motivism and Inconsistency	33
Hamner Hill		
Empo	owerment as the Fundamental Legal Concept	41
Patrick Mona	ghan	
The L	Largest Proper Parts of a Whole:	
A Me	reological Reason Why the Thesis of	
Comp	position as Identity is False	50
Christopher A		
Yello	w is not a Color	58
Dan Stiver		
Phron	netic Judgment in Reason and Faith for Paul Ricoeur:	
Blurin	ng the Lines?	65
Mark Walker		
Episte	emic Contextualism Versus the Variable Implicit	
Moda	l Modifiers Theory	75
CONTRIBUTERS		89
2011 PROGRAM		91
		1