# **Southwest Philosophical Studies**

The Journal of The New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society

> Volume 35 Spring 2013

### SOUTHWEST PHILOSOPHICAL STUDIES

http://www.nmwt.org/

**EDITOR-IN-CHIEF** Justin Bell, University of Houston – Victoria

#### **MANAGING EDITOR**

Andrew Pavelich, University of Houston - Downtown

#### 2011 EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE NEW MEXICO TEXAS PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

President: Nathan Smith, Houston Community College – Northwest Vice President: Peter Hutcheson, Texas State University Secretary and Past President: Dan Flores, Houston Community College – Northwest Treasurer: Robert Louis, Houston Community College – Journal Editor: Glenn C. Joy, Texas State University Director At-Large: Thomas Urban, Houston Community College – Northwest Director At-Large: Audrey McKinney, Texas State University

Southwest Philosophical Studies, the journal of the New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society, is published annually. General correspondence may be addressed to Justin Bell, editor-in-chief Southwest Philosophical Studies; University of Houston – Victoria; School of Arts and Sciences; 3007 North Ben Wilson; Victoria, TX 77901. Justin Bell's email address is BellJ1@uhv.edu. Individual and institutional subscription information may be addressed to <secretary.nmwt@gmail.com>.

Submissions: Only papers read at the Annual Meeting of the New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society are eligible for publication in Southwest Philosophical Studies. Manuscripts in any area of serious philosophical interest are blind-refereed for possible acceptance in two phases, the first for formal presentation during the Society's annual spring meeting and the second for publication in the following year's volume of Southwest Philosophical Studies. Contact the Secretary-Treasurer for technical details of manuscript preparation. The call for papers is published on the Society's website at <http://www.nmtx.org/> and sent out by the Secretary through the distribution list. Please contact the Secretary to be added to the list.

> © 2015 by the New Mexico-Texas Philosophical Society ISSN 0885-9310

## The Sixty-First Annual Meeting of The New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society

### **March 2012**

The meeting was held in Las Cruses, New Mexico

Hosted by

New Mexico State University

### CONTENTS

PAPERS
Nathan Smith
2012 Presidential Address
Descartes on Mind-Body Unity1
Michael Da Silva
Winner of the Houghton Dalrymple Award
Theorizing Justice for Perpetual Peace:
The Law of Peoples and its Place in the Liberal Tradition12
Jay Michael Arnold
The New Knight of Faith:
Pacifying Religious Violence in
Kierkegaard's Fear and Trembling18
Jamie Bronstein
Chained for Life: Conjoined Twins, Identity,
and the Ethics of Separation Surgery
Shohei Edamura
Leibniz on the Weakness of Will and the Doctrine
of Distinct Inclination
Gareth Fuller
Objects:
Language and Metaphysics41
Hamner Hill
Daubert's Asymmetrical Impact on Civil and Criminal Litigation:
The Curious Case of an Evidentiary Standard47
Daniel Rubio
Libertarian Free Will and Circumstantial Moral Luck57
Gino Signoracci
Derrida and Education:
Deconstruction and the Right to Philosophy64
Joe Ulatowski
On the Expertise Defense of Armchair Philosophy71
Morgan Wallhagen
Mental States as Presentations
CONTRIBUTORS
<b>2012 PROGRAM</b>