# **Southwest Philosophical Studies**

The Journal of The New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society

> Volume 36 Spring 2014

#### SOUTHWEST PHILOSOPHICAL STUDIES

http://www.nmwt.org/

**EDITOR-IN-CHIEF** Justin Bell, University of Houston – Victoria

#### **MANAGING EDITOR**

Andrew Pavelich, University of Houston - Downtown

#### 2013 EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE NEW MEXICO TEXAS PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

President: Peter Hutcheson, Texas State University Vice President: Luciana Garbayo, University of Texas at El Paso Past President: Nathan Smith, Houston Community College – Northwest Secretary: Dan Flores, Houston Community College – Northwest Treasurer: Robert Louis, Houston Community College – Northwest Journal Editor: Glenn C. Joy, Texas State University Director At-Large: Audrey McKinney, Texas State University

Southwest Philosophical Studies, the journal of the New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society, is published annually. General correspondence may be addressed to Justin Bell, editor-in-chief Southwest Philosophical Studies; University of Houston – Victoria; School of Arts and Sciences; 3007 North Ben Wilson; Victoria, TX 77901. Justin Bell's email address is BellJ1@uhv.edu. Individual and institutional subscription information may be addressed to <secretary.nmwt@gmail.com>.

Submissions: Only papers read at the Annual Meeting of the New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society are eligible for publication in Southwest Philosophical Studies. Manuscripts in any area of serious philosophical interest are blind-refereed for possible acceptance in two phases, the first for formal presentation during the Society's annual spring meeting and the second for publication in the following year's volume of Southwest Philosophical Studies. Contact the Secretary-Treasurer for technical details of manuscript preparation. The call for papers is published on the Society's website at <http://www.nmtx.org/> and sent out by the Secretary through the distribution list. Please contact the Secretary to be added to the list.

> © 2016 by the New Mexico-Texas Philosophical Society ISSN 0885-9310

# The Sixty-Fourth Annual Meeting of The New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society

## March 2013

The meeting was held in San Antonio, Texas

Hosted by

San Antonio College

### **CONTENTS**

APERS	
Peter Hutcheson	
2013 Presidential Address	
Skeptical Atheism1	
Anthony L. Cashio	
Social Institutions, Education, and Nature:	
Considering Environmental (Re)Education	
through the Works of John Dewey and G.H. Mead1	0
Gilbert Fulmer	
Plantinga on the Natural:	
Naturalism Is Not Self-Defeating1	7
Eric Gilbertson	
Contingency, Metaphysical Error,	
and Modal Truth by Convention2	3
Brian Harding	
The Happiness of the Philosopher	
according to Boethius of Dacia3	2
Jacob M. Kolman	
Intellectual Property and Plagiarism in Hegel4	2
Jules Simon	
The Desert of the Ethical5	0
CONTRIBUTORS	9
013 PROGRAM6	1